The pink robe.

The pink robe. I remember two things about it: My mom bought it at a store called Walker Scott (which was a big deal because my mom rarely bought things for herself), and she played Rook in this pink robe while she waited very patiently for me to be born in the winter of 1978. The mere mention of this robe sends my heart into a bit of a patter. Maybe because… one, it’s gorgeous. And two, in some of the earliest memories of my mom, this pink robe was her morning silhouette. But somewhere around grade school this robe became more of a retired icon… a gem that found its resting place in my mother’s closet. As I opened her shower gift under the twinkling lights, a beautiful giant pile of puffy satin pink fell into my lap. My heart fluttered. “I labored with you in that robe,” my mom shared. “I want you to have it, I’ve always wanted you to have it.” I went home that night and did my best to organize gifts into their proper new spots.  I draped that beautiful pink robe over a hook in our closet, ready to grab and pack for the hospital on April 8th. We’re carrying on the tradition.

Juliet Mae (2 years): *A beautiful little freckle appeared on your face this month. Left cheek, at the start of your cheek bone. Can’t wait to see how that adds to the character of you. *On Palm Sunday, you insisted on joining your sisters singing Hosanna on stage at church. Not a single hesitation, you charged up the stairs, and front and center as the youngest kid (by far), you shined. Later on you shared “The stage makes me happy.” * It’s hard to see, but in front of the Paschalls’ blue front door are your shoes. Perfectly placed side by side. At two years old, you take your shoes off all on your own. In fact you are a bit of a shoe monitor at our home, “Ake youh soos ahhf”(Take your shoes off). You bring your Asian ancestors great happiness. 🙂 *Your hands on your hips (bottom left). It happens often, and I honestly adore it. You have a fun sparkly sass Juliet. You have a hands on hips stance, and an eye frowl(?) that means serious business.

Aria Ellen (almost five!): *We enrolled you into Kindergarten! That last sentence still blows my mind. We enrolled you into a few lotteries, and unlike your older sister, you’ve been drawn for almost all of them! Lucky girl. Now, to figure out where you’re going come August. *One night, long after bedtime, you pranced over to our room. Why? You wanted Mommy and Daddy to see your “stick the landing” pose, that’s all (center right). We adore you Aria! *Look at that bottom left picture. You are gifted, love. Or as I sometimes say, “you came out of the womb with pointed toes.” Your ballet teacher pulled me aside this month— “She has a gift. Movement comes so easily for her. She just gets it. She and I are going to have a lot of fun in years to come.” And sure enough, your movements are so impressive. At a park, you climbed a pole while wearing tights. You are so strong Aria!

Naomi Mariam (6 years): *Naomi, you are growing up so quickly and so beautifully. Your kind heart, your delightfully inviting character, your deep care for others. I love every part of you. When people ask me how I’m feeling about adding another little into our family, I smirk with confidence… “We’re going to be fine, I’ve got my Naomi.” It’s true. Can not wait to see you shine as a big sister to three. (posted on Instagram on 3.28.16). *You got your first report card Naomi. Your math and reading are scoring high marks, love— we are so proud of you! It just comes so easily for you, and you enjoy it. You love school. *You also love jump roping a lot. It’s what you do most at recess. *While sitting on the toilet, Daddy passed by and you said “Hey Daddy, hang out with me in here. I love when you’re around.” And so he did. *You had tacos for the first time. You devoured them.

Maertz Family Memories: March is for family visits. Shelly flew into town for work and mommy got lots of catch up time with an old college roommate, as did Uncle Micah, Auntie Katrina and their three (Letta, Elcho, and baby Margaret), Ama’s siblings (Uncle LeRoy Redding and Auntie Mary Ellen Kubo), and Auntie Malina & Auntie Mary. A very spontaneous family reunion! And GrampBill bought a last minute ticket and flew down when Mommy was 38 weeks and struggling, waddling along in late pregnancy. Just after we picked him up at the airport, we enjoyed a beautiful dinner at C-Level together. He took you girls everywhere and gave mommy hours off her feet. Bless him.*Mommy enjoyed meals at Banker’s Hill Pub and Grill and C-Level with Shelly. *Children’s Museum with the Kubos! Saturday trip to the Poway Farmer’s market! *Mommy’s iron levels dropped to 8, so she took many trips to the hospital for iron infusions. *Daddy and you girls joined the Paschalls on a hike up Battle Mountain. *On Palm Sunday, all three of you sang your hearts out on stage. You guys are naturals. *Celebrated Manoah’s 9th birthday at his football game, best cheering squad around. *A simple and beautiful gathering of friends and family in the Paschalls’ backyard to celebrate the coming of our 4th! *Growth group girls surprise me with a night of gifts and words to honor the coming babe. Such a gift. *Park and ChickFilA with Amie and Tins. *Ama helps out tremendously as the days get harder and the nights sleeplessly longer. Baby girl’s clothes are organized, crib is up, itty bitty diapers, pretty new bows, we are ready. All we need is a baby.

Leave a Reply

